Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Halcyon by Rio Youers Blog Tour


Martin Lovegrove is man who dreams of being able to provide a better life for his family. His ten year old daughter Edith has terrifying nightmare visions of violent events, his teen age daughter Shirley is growing increasingly distant and then a terrible tragedy strikes. Shaken by grief and feeling powerless Martin is intrigued when a man he meets in a bar tells him about Halcyon; a community cut off from technology and modern life, where everyone works together and the violent world that is an everyday reality in modern America can become a distant memory. Martin decides that this is the new start his family needs and full of hope he sets off with just a handful of possessions. Halcyon is run by the charismatic Mother Moon and as Martin throws himself into contributing to the community on the island everything seems rosy. Martin himself feels stronger and the whole family have benefited from the fresh air, good food and beautiful setting. But Martin begins to notice some things that just don't add up and so he starts to investigate if Halcyon is really the haven it claims to be. This is a fast paced, heart pounding dark thriller. Despite the fact that it's over five hundred pages I tore through this book frantic to know what happens next. It's a perfect spooky tale for Halloween, ideal for fans of Dean Koontz or Stephen King. Halcyon is out now from Titan books who kindly sent me a copy.



No comments:

Post a Comment