Monday, March 26, 2012

Sacrilege by S.J. Parris


Sacrilege by S. J. Parris





The latest novel in the Giordano Bruno series is a page turning romp through post reformation England. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom it fits into the series by reviving characters from previous stories but also works as a stand alone as the author gives us enough information about Bruno's previous adventures to intrigue the reader without confusing us.
 The story begins in a sweltering London with the threat of plague forcing many to flee. Bruno is unexpectedly reunited with Sophia now on the run and wanted for her husband's murder. He travels to Canterbury to attempt to clear her name and to spy on the city's luminaries. Here Bruno uncovers strange plots and sinister secrets and finds himself on trial. 
 I hadn't read any books by S. J. Parris before but found Sacrilege an entertaining and enjoyable read and look forward to reading the rest of the series.

No comments:

Post a Comment