Friday, May 17, 2013

After Flodden By Rosemary Goring

After Flodden by Rosemary Goring is an outstanding fiction debut from a powerful and talented author. Rosemary Goring has previously written the bestselling Scotland the Autobiography and has worked as a non-fiction editor for many years but this book feels like the work of a fiction author at the height of her powers. The captivating story features a handful of characters in the aftermath of the Battle of Flodden in 1513. Patrick Paniter was James IV’s advisor and secretary and he is haunted by the horrors of the battlefield and the death of his king. Louise Brenier has asked for Paniter’s help in finding her brother who hasn’t returned from battle.  The indomitable Louise disgruntled with the search for her brother decides to set out to find him herself and finds herself caught up in a feud between two border clans.  The action is fast paced and perilous. The characters are believable and their stories compelling. This novel will have huge appeal for fans of Rose Tremain and Hilary Mantel. It introduces a period of history which is less well explored than the rest of the Sixteenth Century and which deserves further exploration. I cannot recommend this story highly enough; it is a must for all fans of Historical Fiction.

Here is a link to my review on lovereading.co.uk

No comments:

Post a Comment