Sunday, June 30, 2013

The Orpheus Descent


This review was originally published as a guest review earlier this week over at Shaz's Book Blog. You can check out Sharon's great blog here http://shazsbookboudoir.blogspot.ie/ and see the original review here http://shazsbookboudoir.blogspot.ie/2013/06/crime-fiction-week-guest-review-tom.html

I was delighted to be given the chance to do a guest review for Shaz’s Book Blog as it has introduced me to a new author I really liked. This is my first encounter with Tom Harper which surprises me as he has written a number of historical mystery novels and his books will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Manda Scott.
The Orpheus Descent is a dual time mystery following the philosopher Plato as he journeys to Italy to meet a friend and discovers a tiny golden orphic tablet; the secret to a life changing mystery, before returning home to write the texts which made him famous. The book is also the story of Lily an archaeologist who while working at a dig in Italy discovers a tiny golden tablet and her husband Jonah who arrives at the dig to find that Lily has disappeared. The story follows Plato and Jonah on their separate but parallel journeys across Greece and Italy and the plot includes Greek Mythology, the riots and unrest in modern Greece and the secretive group of university friends who might know more about Lily’s disappearance than they are pretending too. My only criticism is that the climax of the story is a little drawn out stretching over a number of chapters, although it leads to a satisfying conclusion.
The Orpheus Descent is out now in hardback from Hodder.

No comments:

Post a Comment