Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Holiday Reads Part One Fantasy

So its August and if you haven't already done so I'm sure some of you may be thinking of getting away for a few days or even just a for a quiet afternoon in the garden to read and relax. All of the summer reads are available now but what do you choose? Fear not I am here to help. Check out my essential reading lists divided by genre and hopefully you will spot something that will relax, entertain or enthrall you.

Fantasy Fiction


The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker. Harper Collins HB
Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and A Discovery of Witches the story blends 1899 New York with Arabian mythology and Kabbalistic magic in a tale of love, community, friendship and self sacrifice.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon Bloomsbury (20th August) HB

21 one year old author Samantha Shannon is already being hailed as the next J.K Rowling. This book is the first in a projected series of Seven set in an alternate future where clairvoyance has been outlawed, Irish born Paige is living a double life daughter of a government official but also part of the criminal underworld until she comes face to face with The Rephaim and untold danger. This is the book everyone will be talking about this Autumn.

River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay Harper Collins HB

Inspired by the decadent Song Dynasty Guy Gavriel Kay re-imagines China in stunning detail. A Fantastic historical adventure which will sweep you away.


The River of No Return by Bee Ridgeway Penguin HB


Another beautiful cover for a wonderful tale of love and time travel perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and Diana Gabaldon.

Swords of Good Men by Snorri Kristjansson Jo Flethcher  Books HB and TPB



Blending Viking History and mythology this is the first in a new series from first time Icelandic author Kristjansson and is sure to appeal to fans of Giles Christian and Tim Severin.


Path of Needles by Alison Littlewood Jo Fletcher Books PB


Following her Richard and Judy Bookclub selected debut can't have been easy but horror queen Littlewood blends murder and fairytales to great effect in this pocket sized little chiller.


So thats my Fantasy Round up and I will by posting up reviews asap. If you don't want to fork out on hardbacks all the books listed above are available on kindle and the next post will feature some purse friendly paperbacks.


No comments:

Post a Comment