Wednesday, January 15, 2014

The Witch's Daughter

The Witch’s Daughter is an enchanting and magical read from start to finish. I was delighted to discover that this is the first of a series because I cannot wait to read more from this wonderful author. I knew as soon as I read the blurb that this book would be for me and I was not disappointed. A must for fans of Carol Goodman, Deborah Harkness, Lee Carroll and Diana Gabaldon, The Witch’s Daughter is the tale of Elizabeth Hawksmith born in the early seventeenth century when just the suspicion of witchcraft was a death sentence. Following a terrible sickness that ravages her village Bess’s mother is tried and hanged for witchcraft. She knows that she will soon follow and seeks help from Gideon Masters who teaches her the dark arts. Endowed now with the gift of immortality and the ability to shape shift, Bess keeps moving on to escape the clutches of Gideon who hunts her through the centuries. Continuing to hone her skills as a healer and as a witch, Bess at last finds refuge in the present day and an apprentice witch in Tegan but even here she is not safe and Elizabeth must finally face her nemesis to save not only her own soul but that of the child she has come to love as a daughter. This is a dark and thrilling tale, magically written. Paula Brackston is an author to watch. 

This review originally appeared on welovethis book.com

No comments:

Post a Comment