Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Inceptio by Alison Morton

Inceptio is the first in a series of books featuring Karen Brown and set in the mysterious land of Roma Nova. The book is alternate history which is a new genre to me but one which I thoroughly enjoyed. The book begins with Karen in present day New York where she finds herself in trouble with the authorities and on the run. The only people she can trust are those sent from Roma Nova; her mother's birthplace to protect her. In Alison Morton's alternate world Roma Nova was established in central Europe by the leading Roman families who fled Rome as it converted to Christianity. A matriarchal society it has remained mysterious and closed off to outsiders. This of course makes the American's very nervous. Despite the high security her new home offers her, Karen; now Cara is still in danger. Inceptio is a high concept thriller, a nail biting page turner and a thumping good read. Alison has included notes on the alternative time line and a dramatis personae which are very useful. This book will appeal to fans of thrillers and historical fiction and I can see it really appealing to anyone who enjoyed Tom Harper's The Orpheus Descent which I reviewed last year see review here It is a must read for fans of Manda Scott and Kate Mosse.

Published by SilverWood Books and Thank you to the author for a review copy.

2 comments:

  1. What an interesting book this sounds. My TBR pile is about to start groaning again!

    ReplyDelete