Monday, August 25, 2014

Last Kiss by Louise Phillips


Last Kiss is the third crime thriller from award winning Irish writer Louise Phillips. I met Louise last year when she came to talk to my book club about her first two books. I really enjoyed both of Louise's previous books but this third one is even better and proves that she is absolutely at the top of her game. Last Kiss like the previous novels is told from multiple view points including the killer which is unusual but doesn't in any way detract from the mystery and the desire to read on. Louise's stories are whydunnits not whodunnits because it is the psychological aspect that interests her and the main protaganist is psychologist Dr Kate Pearson. While this book is the third in a series and I recommend you read the rest of the series in order to understand Kate and the police officers that she interacts with, you could read this book without having read the previous two. In this novel Kate is coming to terms with the disintegration of her marriage, feeling guilty about spending time away from her son and of course getting far too involved with the case she is investigating. The book begins a chilling prologue of a young woman in labour and utterly alone in a forest in rural Ireland. The narrative does not hide the fact that the killer is a woman but we read on because her story is so compelling and heartbreaking. Cassie is a disturbed young woman who uses her sexuality to lure her victims to their death but why does she kill? Travelling from Dublin to Paris and Rome this is a page turning, gut wrenching thriller which will  undoubtedly earn Louise further accolades and hordes of new fans. This book will appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah, Arlene Hunt, Erin Kelly and Claire McGowan.

No comments:

Post a Comment