Monday, August 11, 2014

The Lost Garden by Kate Kerrigan


The Lost Garden is the tale of Aileen Doherty who travels away from her beloved island of Ilaunmor for the first time to spend a summer in Scotland potato picking with her father and brothers. Onthe way she meets another migrant worker Jimmy Walsh who charms her with his quick wit and friendly way. In Scotland the pair quickly fall in love as they work together. However any dreams of happiness are cut short by a tragic accident and Aileen returns home feeling lost and lonely. Aileen begins to work on an overgrown garden on the island that had been part of the "Big House" and in bringing life to the plants and flowers she finds hope and redemption, but can she ever find love again?

I won't spoil the ending for you as this is a wonderful story that will have you enchanted from page one. Based on real events which you can read about in an author's note at the end. Kate Kerrigan also known as Morag Prunty is the author of a number of bestselling novels including New York Times Bestseller Ellis Island. I love historical fiction which takes a few historical facts and builds on them and this is beautifully done; a lovely portrait of a time, a place and a people. Perfect for fans of Hazel Gaynor, Lucinda Riley and Kate Morton. I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment