Thursday, February 19, 2015

Vowed by Liz de Jager






Vowed is the second novel from Liz de Jager, continuing the story of monster fighting teen Kit Blackhart. I loved the first instalment and I think this one is even better. Each novel is a separate adventure and so can be read out of sequence. In this one Kit is reluctantly teamed up with Dante, a human “spook” or government agent to discover why kids have been going missing from a South London estate.
The writing is whip crack smart and the story rattles along; believe me you will be hurtling through the chapters desperate to know what happens next. We meet many of the characters familiar from Banished such as Kit’s family and her werewolf best friend Aiden but we also learn more about the Seelie and Unseelie Fae and the variety of demons, angels and other creatures that exist in Kit’s world. Kit is fantastic central character; smart, cheeky, tough and endearing she makes an ideal role model for teen girls.
This is the kind of YA kids have been screaming for and the kind of crossover that fantasy fans will love. This book is darker, grittier and more urban than Banishedand that gives the plot greater momentum and lends it undoubted crossover appeal. Vowed is perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Cassandra Clare and Patricia Briggs.

This review was first published here http://www.welovethisbook.com/reviews/vowed

No comments:

Post a Comment