Friday, March 20, 2015

The Dream Snatcher by Abi Elphinstone



This review originally appeared on the Bookseller review website welovethisbook.com follow the link here http://www.welovethisbook.com/reviews/the-dreamsnatcher and Abi kindly got in touch to say that it was also published in the print edition which of course I was delighted to hear.


The Dream Snatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the ten to thirteen age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison as it features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting. Moll is a gypsy girl pulled into a world of dark magic. When she learns the truth about her parents and about who she is, she is revealed to be the key to an ancient prophecy. But danger lurks nearby as a witchdoctor known as Skull tries to lure her or "dreamsnatch" her away from the safety of the gypsy camp to prevent the prophecy from coming true and unleash his dark magic on the world. Moll needs all her determination and her friends to defeat him. This a beautifully written book with a wonderful cast of characters including some wonderful animals. I really enjoyed the fact that the adults are a part of the adventure, helping and protecting Moll and also acknowledging her importance to the camp.   The wonderfully atmospheric writing brings the ancient wood vividly to life. I was enchanted right from page one. It's dark, gripping and thrilling and I really hope it will be a long running series. 

You can learn more about Abi and her writing habits from this interview http://www.serendipityreviews.co.uk/2015/02/where-ideas-flow-with-abi-elphinstone.html be prepared for serious writing shed envy.

No comments:

Post a Comment