Friday, April 10, 2015

Dying Fall by Elly Griffiths



This is the fifth book in the series featuring Ruth Galloway; a forensic archaeologist based in Norfolk who teaches at the fictional University of North Norfolk and occasionally assists DCI Harry Nelson with criminal investigations. I read the first four in the series quite close together and then had a break of almost two years before starting this one so I am fairly confident that it could be read as a stand alone but I do urge anyone who hasn't yet done so to read the entire series because it is without a doubt one the best crime series out there. While some authors start to get repetitive after a couple of books this series remains fresh and innovative and in many ways this book sees the author really hitting her stride in terms of character development making this my favourite in the series so far. The action opens with Ruth receiving the news that an old University friend has died in a house fire, although she hasn't seen Dan in nearly twenty years Ruth is devastated but when she gets letter from Dan saying he has made a hugely significant discovery and is afraid for his life she is very worried and shortly after the police confirm that Dan has been  murdered. This book sees the majority of the action moving away from the bleak Norfolk coast to the equally bleak Pendle area of Lancashire. This series is perfect for those who enjoy crime novels focusing on character development and asking why rather than depicting grissly murder scenes. The books will also appeal to those who enjoy a touch of the paranormal with their helping of crime and as such will appeal to fans of James Oswald and Phil Rickman.

No comments:

Post a Comment