Monday, January 11, 2016

Truthwitch


Truthwitch is an astonishingly good novel. This is the kind of book that fans of YA fantasy have been waiting for. If you love Kristin Cashore and Naomi Novik then you will love Truthwitch. The story focuses on two young witches; Safiya and Iseult whose bond of friendship is unbreakable, they are forced to flee from their home and everything they have known when the tentative peace between the empires is shaken and war looms. While there is romance in this novel it very much takes second place to the most important relationship, that of the two young women. Dennard’s world building is phenomenal and I hope this is just the beginning of a very long series. With various factions at war and different magical abilities the storytelling is fast paced, full of adventure and high stakes thrills. As a Truthwitch Safi could become a powerful tool used by either side in the political and military struggle and her own family may be just as ruthless as her enemies, so she must avoid capture at all costs. Iseult is a threadwitch but she is unsure of herself and of her powers and both girls are hunted by a brutal bloodwitch with frightening powers. Making allies and enemies along the way the girls must find their way to safety. This is brilliant storytelling which will appeal to readers of YA and Fantasy fans alike. Thanks to Lauren Welch at Tor Macmillan for a review copy of this book

No comments:

Post a Comment