Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Fantasy Titles I can’t wait for in 2016


Having made a resolution to read even more fantasy, here is a small selection of the books that I hope to read this year. Are there any here that you are excited about? Any that I’ve missed? Tweet me @LisaReadsBooks and let me know.



Judged by Liz de Jager
Jan 2016 Tor Books   9781447247708
This is the final instalment of one of the best urban fantasy series ever written. This instalment sees Aiden, Dante and Kit tracking down the dealers of “glow” an addictive fae created drug all across London bringing them much unwanted attention while in the Otherwhere Thorn realises that the Goddess is dying and with her the veil between the worlds and he needs Kit’s help. I cannot recommend this series highly enough.



The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
Jan 2016 Walker Books 9781406358964
Australian Fantasy author Goodman blends Buffy the Vampire Slayer with Pride and Prejudice in this dark regency fantasy for young adults. Full of thrills, romance and magic this is a story sure to captivate.

A Gathering of Shadows by V E Schwab
February 2016 Titan Books  9781783295425
Continuing the series begun with A Darker Shade of Magic about a dimension hopping traveller called Kell. The tale grows darker in this instalment as Black London rises again and a pirate ship arrives carrying old friends. Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Doctor Who.



Into the Dim by Janet B Taylor
Feb 2016 Houghton Mifflin Harcourt  9780544602007
Billed as Outlander for teens this book had me sold at that but it also features a secret society of time travellers and an adventure filled race through time including a trip to the court of Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine. It should appeal to fans of A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray so here’s hoping it gets a UK and Ireland release.


Half Lost by Sally Green
March 2016 Penguin 9780141350905
The final book in the trilogy sees Nathan travel to America to win the support of Ledger in a bid to end the war between black and white witches for good. Sally Green won the Teen Book Category in the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2015 for the first in the series Half Bad but I would recommend this series to fans of urban fantasy of all ages.



Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
April 2016 Quercus Books 9781786540003
A New York Times bestseller this has been described as being perfect for Outlander fans because it features time travel, enough said as far as I'm concerned. 




Masks and Shadows by Stephanie Burgis
April 2016 Pyr Books   9781633881327
Best known for her Middle Grade series set in the regency era and featuring young magician Kat Stephenson this book is the first adult fantasy novel from  Burgis; set among the 18th Century Austrian aristocracy and blending alchemy, music and blackmail. This one is perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and Zen Cho.



Skin (Daughter of Albion) by Ilka Tampke
June 2016  Hodder  9781473616431
Many readers may have missed this when it was published in hardback in August in the UK and Ireland. It will be released in the US in Feb, with a paperback release for the UK and Ireland this June. Straddling the genres of Fantasy and Historical Fiction and with crossover appeal for adults and teens, this is a stunning portrayal of Celtic Britain facing the threat of roman invasion. Perfect for fans of Wolf Brother.




Roses and Rot by Kat Howard
June Saga   9781481451161
A writer that Neil Gaiman has called remarkable is definitely one to watch. Kat Howard’s first novel blends fairy tale and gothic archetypes and questions what sacrifices an artist should make to create good art.



Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal
Tor.com July 2016  9780765378255
Generating a lot of pre publication interest this features Ginger an American heiress in London during WWI and a corps of Spirit Mediums helping the war effort. This looks like it will have huge crossover appeal particularly for fans of Cassandra Clare and Libba Bray.













No comments:

Post a Comment