Tuesday, May 24, 2016

The Saffron Trail by Rosanna Ley



This is the story of two women who for different reasons feel a connection to Morocco. Nell is grieving for her mother who died suddenly, in strange circumstances and Amy is a photographer; determined to remain aloof and independent. They meet at a cookery course in Marrakech. For Nell the course was a gift from her husband, a chance to explore Moroccan cuisine which has always held a fascination for her and to understand more about her Mother who had grown saffron on her farm in Cornwall. For Amy the trip is work she is illustrating a cookery book and organising an event showcasing the links between Britain and Morocco, but the trip is also a chance to find out more about her cousin Glenn, her Great Aunt Lillian's only child ,who went missing as a young man and the only clue to his whereabouts is a faded postcard with a Moroccan stamp. The two women instantly hit it off and begin to explore the city and its culture. The trip also gives both of them a chance to think about the next step in their lives. Nell is unsure about selling her Mother's farmhouse and Amy is not sure about her relationship with her boss. Interweaving the two central characters stories are the stories of Glenn in Morocco in the 1970s and Great Aunt Lillian looking back over her life. Rosanna Ley creates wonderful characters and writes beautifully about family, relationships, friendship and love. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.


This review originally appeared on the review website of The Bookseller, We Love This Book see the original review HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment