Friday, July 6, 2018

The Beloveds by Maureen Lindley


The Beloveds is a gripping Gothic tale of the Stash sisters who grew up in a stunning country pile; Pipits in Somerset. Betty is the eldest and ever since she was supplanted in her Mother's affections by younger sister Gloria, she has been steeped in a dangerous jealous brew. Betty believes that Gloria is a 'Beloved' one of those lucky people blessed with good looks, a sunny disposition and good fortune in life. Betty's one time best friend becomes Gloria's constant companion, Betty's boyfriend meets Gloria and is smitten. So when their mother leaves Pipits to Gloria and Henry, Betty is outraged. Pipits has been Betty's obsession since childhood, she believes her inheritance has been taken from her and she will do anything to get it back. Maureen Lindley's debut is a stunning, page turning study in a character's descent into madness. Every step in Betty's deranged and dangerous scheme seems absolutely logical and fair to Betty while the reader is compelled to read on and ask just how far will she go? This is a psychological thriller that will have you gripped. Perfect for fans of Gilliann Flynn or Liz Nugent. 

Thanks so much to Philippa at Titan for sending me a copy. The Beloveds is out now in paperback. 

No comments:

Post a Comment