Lost Acre by Andrew Caldecott



I am delighted to be part of the blog blast for Lost Acre the final book in Andrew Caldecott's Rotherweird Trilogy. Rotherweird is a town apart, cut off from the rest of England in Elizabethan times it has it's own curious laws and rituals. Lost Acre opens with the announcement of the election of the new mayor however, the result is disrupted by the return of Geryon Wynter. While some of the townspeople are drawn to his charisma and aura of power not all are convinced. This trilogy is inventive, witty and whimsical. Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. Caldecott blends a talent for description which brings the landscape and atmosphere vividly alive with a cast of characters to rival Dickens. The list of characters at the beginning is very handy as there are so many. I also wouldn't advise anyone to read Lost Acre as a standalone book, the story continues from one book into the next without any chance for new readers to catch up so if you haven't already, you'll need to read Rotherweird and Wyntertide before diving into Lost Acre. Thanks a million to Milly Reid at Jo Fletcher/Quercus for inviting me to take part in the publication day blog blast and for an e-ARC of the book. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Adele by Nicola Cassidy

Blackberry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton