Adele by Nicola Cassidy




Nicola Cassidy's third novel is a bit of a departure for the author who, as most of you will no doubt know, has previously written dark, gritty historical crime. However Fans of Nicola's writing style, characterisation and fabulous storytelling ability will not be disappointed. Adele is the story of Adele Astaire, sister of Fred Astaire. Before Fred became a movie star and before he was partnered with Ginger Rogers he danced with Adele, from the time they were tiny, both children had a passion and a talent for dance. Their parents brought them to New York to train and by the 1920s they were world famous. The story is told through a number of narrators; Adele herself,  Patricia a young woman working at Lismore Castle in Waterford and Ellie Morgan a Californian journalist researching Adele's life. This method of different time periods and the addition of interviews and research material is cleverly done and Nicola manages to maintain pace and narrative tension throughout. A wonderful piece of storytelling which  finally brings all the threads together. A perfect choice for fans of Hazel Gaynor, Heather Webb, Nicola Cornick and Lucinda Riley. 
Adele is out now in paperback and e-book from Poolbeg Books. Thanks to Nicola and Poolbeg for sending me an advanced copy.Full details of the blog tour below.

Image preview







Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blackberry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton

Lost Acre by Andrew Caldecott