Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Human Remains By Elizabeth Haynes






Human Remains is a disturbing and intriguing crime novel, told in an unconventional style and bleak in its outlook but with utterly engrossing storytelling.
The story is presented from two viewpoints; Colin a clever but psychopathic loner and Annabel a police analyst who discovers her neighbour’s corpse and feels guilty that she hadn’t noticed her absence and frightened that as someone who lives alone she could one day end up the same way herself.
Although not a detective Annabel begins to research discoveries of dead bodies in her local area and is shocked to see a huge increase over the last year. She is sure that something sinister is going on but is restricted from investigating any further until she forms a tentative friendship with local journalist; Sam.
Colin meanwhile is fantasising about his friend’s girlfriend and studying psychology, wondering just how far he can make his victims go using the power of persuasion.
A chilling read which will appeal to fans of Rosamund Lupton, Sophie Hannah and S.J. Watson.

Thank you to Turnaround Publisher Services who sent me this book to review.
Human Remains is published by Myriad Editions and is out now.

No comments:

Post a Comment