Sunday, March 16, 2014

The Enchantment Emporium


The Enchantment Emporium is a delightful urban fantasy originally published in 2009 and now available in this gorgeous re-issued paperback. The story centers around Alysha Gale who comes from a family of witches. She has returned to the family home after her contract as a research assistant at the Royal Ontario Museum comes to an end.  Although she is 24 and has lived away from home, interference in her personal life is a family sport for Alysha's aunts so when she unexpectedly inherits her grandmother's junk shop on the other side of Canada she jumps at the chance to escape. However it seems that there is something magical happening in Calgary and as her grandmother has disappeared it is looking very suspicious. Along with her cousin Charlie and best friend Michael, Alysha sets about investigating the problem meeting Handsome reporter Graham along the way. This is an exciting page turning and fun read for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Ben Aaronovitch and Charlaine Harris with whip smart dialogue and great characterisation. The second book in the series Wild Ways will be released in April with the third due later this year from Titan Books who are also publishing Tanya's Confederation series of Sci-Fi novels this year. Thanks to Chloe Seager of Titan for a copy of this book for review.

No comments:

Post a Comment