Friday, May 12, 2017

More new books to be excited about in 2017

2017 is proving to be an absolutely top notch year for books. Not only are there new books on the way from some of my favourite historical fiction authors Bernard Cornwell, Ken Follett, Hazel Gaynor and Diana Gabaldon as well as new books from fantasy authors Philip Pullman, Celine Kiernan, Frances Hardinge and Ilka Tampke there are all of these lovelies to look forward to also.

Just Published 


The bestselling author of The Bees returns with a powerful environmental thriller about friendship and obsession. Perfect for fans of Rosamund Lupton and Peter May. Out now 4th Estate.


Lucy Atkins third novel features a TV historian, a Victorian diary and a web of secrets and lies. This sounds just amazing. Out now Quercus Books


Rebecca Mascull has just released her third novel and it features women pilots in Edwardian England and the Great War. I am really looking forward to reading this. Out Now from Hodder Books. For fans of Katherine Webb and Helen Dunmore.



A new book from Carol Goodman always makes me sit up and take notice and this one seems intriguing as it features a spooky, possibly haunted house in the Hudson Valley, which is having a menacing impact on the couple who have taken it on. This is out now from William Morrow. Goodman is a must read for fans of Gothic thrillers.

Coming in June




The second book from Irish author of YA fiction Moira Fowley-Doyle. Rose, Ivy, Hazel and Rowan hope that a mysterious spellbook will help to find the things they have lost; big and small but slowly they begin to wonder if its actually revealing secrets that were never meant to be told. Out on June 1st from Corgi Children's part of PRH. 


The new novel from Rowan Coleman features Luna; a young woman reeling from the impact of her mother's death. Somehow Luna is transported back to 1977 and meets her mother as a young woman. Can she save her from suicide? I have heard wonderful things about this novel which is being called spellbinding and heart-breaking. Out on 29th June from Ebury Press (PRH)



The companion to This Savage Song brings V.E. Schwab's Monsters of Verity series to a thrilling and high-octane conclusion. Out on June 13th from Titan Books.


Coming in July



Image result for the midnight queen sylvia izzo hunter

The first book in the Midnight Queen trilogy is released in paperback this summer. It features an alternative 19th Century England fully of myth, magic and intrigue. It's ideal for fans of Susanna Clarke, Genevieve Cogman and V.E. Schwab. (Alison & Busby)


Image result for corpselight by angela slatter

The second book in Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series is coming this July and I cannot wait. I adored the first book about Verity's adventures. Verity is a paronormal investigator with a difference. For fans of Lisa Tuttle, Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch. Read my review of the first book HERE

Coming in August


Image result for the cottingley secret

First and foremost I have to mention this book by the brilliant Hazel Gaynor. It will be published by William Morrow Books in the US and Canada in August but fans on this side of the Atlantic will have to wait a little longer. There will be a special early edition for Ireland in September and a paperback for the UK next March. (Harper Collins) I actually feel like I have been waiting for this book for so long as I read about it in the Bookseller when Hazel signed the deal for this book. This will be Hazel's fourth novel and is the tale of the sisters who convinced the world that they had photographed fairies in their garden. Hazel is a wonderful writer her books are the ultimate comfort read. This is a story I cannot wait to explore. 


Image result for the strange case of the alchemists daughter

Taking inspiration from some classic horror and science fiction this book features Mary Jekyll on the hunt for clues to her father's past. She seeks the aid of Holmes and Watson and crosses paths with women who are the creations of a secret society of power crazed scientists. It sounds utterly thrilling and will be released by Saga Press NY in August

Image result for the witch of wayside cross

The second book in Lisa Tuttle's dazzling new paranormal crime series sees Jesperson and Lane travel to Norfolk to investigate the curious death of Mr Manning and the strange shrieking pits. I am really looking forward to revisiting these characters and just look at that cover. Read my review of the first in the series HERE  (August Jo Fletcher Books)

Image result for the eye of the north sinead o'hart

A thrilling debut from an Irish author about a young girl kidnapped and taken to the icy north. This looks perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone and Emma Carroll. From Alfred A Knopf in August. 


and Finally coming this September 

Image result for a skinful of shadows

A new book from Frances Hardinge. Yay. All I needed to hear about this were the words dark historical tale. This is set during the English Civil War and features a family cursed to carry the souls of seven ancestors.  Makepeace Felmotte inherits not only those angry men but the spirit of a bear and it is this strength that she uses to escape. Sounds amazing. Macmillan 21st September. 

No comments:

Post a Comment