Posts

Showing posts from October, 2019

The Widow of Pale Harbour by Hester Fox

Image
Hester Fox's second novel is a triumphant follow up to last year's The Witch of Willow Hall. A new minister with a colourful past arrives in Pale Harbour and meeting the prominent families of the town he is told to avoid the Widow Carver, a woman rumoured to have killed her own husband and to practice witchcraft. Gabriel Stone of course is immediately curious, who is this strange woman? Expecting a cackling crone, he visits the widow and discovers a lively, intelligent and captivating woman. However someone in the town has gone beyond rumour and speculation and is determined to terrorise Sophy Carver; first with strange noises and animals carcasses before trying to frame her for murder and threatening her life. Gabriel sets out to clear her name as he finds himself falling under Sophy's spell. This is a thrilling gothic tale full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of Essie Fox, Laura Purcell, Stacey Halls or the mid Victorian gothic fiction of Wilkie Collins and others…

The Stone of Destiny by Caroline Logan

Image
The Stone of Destiny is Caroline Logan's debut novel. It is a brilliant fantasy adventure for young adults; steeped in Scottish myth and folklore. The protagonist Ailsa is a young woman who is shunned by her community and labelled a changeling. The people from whom her mother had protected her, forced her to flee. With her mother now dead Ailsa is alone. That is until she finds a pair of selkies in need of help and soon she finds herself tangled up in an adventure and a mystery. Because the selkies are being hunted by none other than Nicnevan; the Dark Fairy Queen herself. The world building and the storytelling in this book are top notch, making for an all encompassing and page turning read. I thoroughly enjoyed Caroline Logan's first book and cannot wait to read the next in The Four Treasures Series. The Stone of Destiny is out now from Cranachan books, thanks so much to Kelly MacDonald for my copy.

Blackberry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton

Image
It's publication day for the fantastic debut novel from Sonia Velton. Blackberry and Wild Rose is a story of two ambitious young women in 18th Century Spitalfields. Esther is a painter who longs to create her own silks but her silk weaver husband laughs off her attempts, it is one of his journeyman weavers, ambitious to become a master weaver, who helps her. Sara her maid has escaped the whorehouse and is also looking to improve her lot in life. Esther invited Sara into her life in order to rescue her but as their ambitions clash Esther begins to suspect that there is dark betrayal happening right under her nose. This is a fantastic work of historical fiction. Velton explores ambition and female desire in a time when women's choices were few. Perfect for fans of Stacey Halls, Laura Purcell and Tracey Chevalier.