Posts

Showing posts from March, 2015

The Dream Snatcher by Abi Elphinstone

Image
This review originally appeared on the Bookseller review website welovethisbook.com follow the link here http://www.welovethisbook.com/reviews/the-dreamsnatcher and Abi kindly got in touch to say that it was also published in the print edition which of course I was delighted to hear.

The Dream Snatcher is a wonderfully magical debut for the ten to thirteen age group which will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and Michelle Harrison as it features a young girl, a tenacious wildcat and a beautiful woodland setting. Moll is a gypsy girl pulled into a world of dark magic. When she learns the truth about her parents and about who she is, she is revealed to be the key to an ancient prophecy. But danger lurks nearby as a witchdoctor known as Skull tries to lure her or "dreamsnatch" her away from the safety of the gypsy camp to prevent the prophecy from coming true and unleash his dark magic on the world. Moll needs all her determination and her friends to defeat him. This a beautifu…

Guest Review of Rebecca series by Anna Carey from Jacq Murphy

Image
Thanks so much to Jacq who blogs here https://bibliojacq.wordpress.com/ and is like me a dedicated kids and YA bookseller.
Time for me to review another of the O'Brien Press children's series. Anna Carey has published four books in the awarding winning Rebecca Rafferty series to date, and these books remain popular with teens all over Ireland. Set in contemporary Ireland, Rebecca lives at home with her sister Rachel and her writer mother and history professor father. She attends the local school with her friends Cass and Alice and the horrible Vanessa and Karen, where she is forced to deal with an English teacher obsessed with her mothers books. This is a fun, and funny, series which keeps you coming back for more.



The Real Rebecca
The first book introduces us to the titular character at fourteen, just beginning 2