Posts

Showing posts from July, 2019

Lost Acre by Andrew Caldecott

Image
I am delighted to be part of the blog blast for Lost Acre the final book in Andrew Caldecott's Rotherweird Trilogy. Rotherweird is a town apart, cut off from the rest of England in Elizabethan times it has it's own curious laws and rituals. Lost Acre opens with the announcement of the election of the new mayor however, the result is disrupted by the return of Geryon Wynter. While some of the townspeople are drawn to his charisma and aura of power not all are convinced. This trilogy is inventive, witty and whimsical. Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. Caldecott blends a talent for description which brings the landscape and atmosphere vividly alive with a cast of characters to rival Dickens. The list of characters at the beginning is very handy as there are so many. I also wouldn't advise anyone to read Lost Acre as a standalone book, the story continues from one book into the next without any chance for new readers to catch up so if yo…

A Shroud of Leaves

Image
Rebecca Alexander's latest novel A Shroud of Leaves continues where A Baby's Bones left off as heroine Sage Westfield is working alongside the police and forensic teams to investigate the murder of a young woman, buried in a shallow grave, close to the site of the disappearance of another young woman more than twenty years before and a young man over a hundred years earlier. Still having flashbacks to her own frightening ordeal a few months before and struggling with new motherhood, it's no wonder that Sage finds the work upsetting, but despite this she is determined to find answers and get justice for the young woman who was so callously discarded. The connections between the most recent murder, the twenty year old missing person case and the mysterious young archaeologist who vanished in 1913 are all slowly revealed in this fast paced crime thriller. Interweaving the stories and elements of folklore, myth and magic. A Shroud of Leaves will appeal to fans of Elly Griffit…

The Nanny at Number 43 by Nicola Cassidy

Image
I am thrilled to be involved in the blog tour for Nicola Cassidy's second book The Nanny at Number 43. Inspired by an advertisement she found in the local newspaper archive which sought a nanny to care for a motherless child, Nicola's research led her to discovering the shockingly high number of cases of infanticide in Ireland throughout the 19th and early 20th century. The plot of the novel revolves around a young woman arriving in Drogheda to apply for the advertised position. While the widower who employs her is delighted to have found someone to care for his young daughter his housekeeper Mrs McHugh is unsettled and suspicious of the Nanny's offhand manner and the baby's seeming listlessness and drowsiness. Along with her friend Betty, now bedridden but always a keen observer of people and their habits, the two women begin to investigate the nanny, revealing that perhaps the young woman is not so respectable after all. In parallel with this unfolding story is the …