Posts

Showing posts from 2020

His Castillian Hawk by Anna Belfrage

Image
I was delighted to be invited by The Coffee Pot Book Club to take part in the blog tour for Anna Belfrage's new book His Castillian Hawk which is set during the thirteenth century and the reign of Edward I. Robert FitzStephen is a loyal soldier in Edward's constant wars against the Welsh and when Robert saves Edward from an apparent assassination attempt his reward is the hand of Elenor d'Outremer; Noor to friends and family along with her lands and a knighthood. As an illegitimate son Robert has risen far above his station at birth and he is grateful to Edward. His young bride whom Robert thought at first to be mousy and quiet proves to be a fiery and spirited young woman and Stephen is soon captivated by her. At first there is a conflict of loyalty as Robert gives up the woman who had shared his bed; Edith, who harbours a sinister jealousy towards Noor but soon there is a greater conflict of loyalty as Noor speaks up against some of the treatment of the Welsh and Stephen…

Cane Warriors by Alex Wheatle

Image
The award winning Young Adult author Alex Wheatle's latest novel is based on the true story of the slave rebellion in eighteenth century Jamaica known as Tacky's War. Cane Warriors is the story of Moa, a young boy trapped in the brutal reality of life as a plantation slave. Wheatle's writing is stark and powerful. This is an important book about a part of history that should be front and center of the education of every young person. Tacky and the Cane Warriors should be famous and celebrated as freedom fighters. Alex Wheatle is an incredible writer with a powerful vision for change. Despite the horror of slavery this novel ultimately offers a hopeful message of the power of people who work together. Thanks so much to Andersen Press for a the chance to get my hands on an early review copy of this book.  Cane Warriors is published by Andersen Press and out this week. 


The Silken Rose by Carol McGrath

Image
The Silken Rose heralds the start of a brand new series from Carol McGrath author of the wonderful Hastings trilogy which focused on women connected to the Norman conquest of England. The new series focuses on Medieval Queens who were branded as she-wolves and the first book tells the story of Ailenor of Provence who arrived in England in 1236 as a girl of thirteen to marry the pious Henry III. Carol McGrath has a remarkable ability to bring the medieval era to life, with characters who spring from the page and exquisite detail of everyday life; food, clothing, weather, traditions and behaviour that make the reader feel entirely immersed in the period. Ailenor is spoiled and manipulative reminding the reader that although she is a Queen, she is also barely more than a child. Her spending, her insistence on getting her own way and her manipulation of the King often lead to trouble for both, though Ailenor is at the same time revealed to be a skilled diplomat. The story also focuses on …

Love Books Tour Cover Reveal for The Running Wolf by Helen Steadman

Image
I am delighted to part of the cover reveal for the brand new historical fiction title from Helen Steadman. I'm a big fan of Helen's work, having reviewed her previous two books. You can read those reviews HERE and you can read more about Helen and her books at her website https://helensteadman.com/So what's the book all about?At the end of the turbulent 17th Century, the ties that bind men are fraying, turning neighbour against neighbour and friend against friend. The Running Wolf takes us deep into the heart of rebel country in the lead up to the 1715 Jacobite uprising and the tale of a Prussian Smuggler who finds himself in Morpeth jail and attracting the interest of Queen Anne's right hand man, the Earl of Nottingham.  It sounds amazing and I'm so looking forward to reading it. So without further ado, I present the gorgeous cover for The Running Wolf...






Into the Burning Dawn By Natalie Meg Evans Blog Tour

Image
Into the Burning Dawn is the latest historical novel from Natalie Meg Evans, published by Bookoutre. The novel is set in Italy during the Second World War. Imogen Fitzgerald was raised by nuns in an Orphanage in Yorkshire and trained as a teacher. Thanks to the connections of a kind Italian nun, she is sent to Naples to become a tutor to the children of the Count di Trosini. Within a year of her arrival war is declared and it is no longer safe for an English person in Italy. Although the Count is insistent that she leave, Imogen is desperate to stay, she has grown to live the children in her care and irresistibly attracted to the Count's wild younger brother. Circumstance conspires to prevent Imogen leaving and so she must attempt to pass as an Italian. Surrounded by German troops, local blackshirts and desperate to conceal her nationality Imogen becomes Innocenza and is torn between her duty to the children she loves and the man she adores as he draws her deeper into the Italian …

The Smugglers Daughter by Kerry Barrett Blog Tour

Image
I'm delighted to be on the blog tour for Kerry Barrett's latest novel, thanks to HQ Stories. Kerry is a new to me author but she has a track record of intriguing, mysterious and romantic historical fiction and her latest book is just that. This is the kind of book I love and one I know that many of my followers will  also adore. Set in two time periods; the late 18th Century and the present day it features two women connected by a place; the windswept Cornish coast and the Moon Girl Inn. In 1799 Emily Moon witnesses the murder of her father but as she's unable to talk about it, his killer has escaped justice, so far. Emily however is determined that he will not take her home and her increasingly drunken and desperate mother from her. In the present day Phoebe Bellingham is a police officer who has taken some much needed time off after a case she was investigating ends with a young girl's death. Phoebe has travelled with best friend Liv to Cornwall to help out while Liv…

The Queen's Devil by Paul Walker Blog Tour with Coffee Pot Book Club

Image
Paul Walker's third novel in his series of William Constable spy thrillers opens with the young doctor attending young Robert Cecil, the son of the Lord High Treasurer; a young man in crippling pain. William has created a brace to help straighten his crooked back and relieve some of the agony. However William's talent and resourcefulness are soon noted and made use of by both his father Lord Burghley and Walsingham, the spy master himself. Attending some alleged conspirators in the Tower, Constable is tasked with both tending their wounds and uncovering information. Constable finds himself caught up in a plot against the Queen not knowing who he can trust. Even his mother and wife are drawn into the tangled web of Walsingham's spy network as Queen Elizabeth's courtiers seem as distrustful of each other as they are of potential plotters. Full of glorious detail of food, entertainment, medicine and the finer points of educated conversation, Paul Walker's research is …

Cover Reveal for Tree Slayer

Image
I'm delighted to be joining with Impress Books and Love Books Tours for the cover reveal of Harriet Springbett's second book in the Tree Magic series. I loved the first book and I'm very much looking forward to the next part of Rainbow's journey. So without further ado.....


It's just stunning, isn't it? Check back in a few weeks when I'll be involved in the blog tour for this title.

Tree Magic by Harriet Springbett Blog Tour

Image
Tree Magic is the debut novel from Harriet Springbett and the first book in a series for Young Adult Readers. It features Rainbow a young girl who discovers that she has a magical connection with trees. However when a horrible accident causes the death of a friend Rainbow is split into two versions of herself both dealing with shock and grief and the fractured family dynamics of her household. The author has created a beautiful, magical setting but threaded through with well drawn and realistic characters. I really felt for Rainbow as she struggles with her feelings of jealousy towards her Mum and anger towards her Stepdad and how she has to modify her behaviour around them to avoid conflict. I thought her struggle to make friends and her spikiness when she first meets Michael were so sympathetically rendered. The idea of the two possible versions of Rainbow after the accident and the different paths that she takes while struggling with the same pain is also an incredibly clever devic…

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

Image

The Queen's Rival by Anne O'Brien

Image
Anne O'Brien's latest novel tells the story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. It's 1459 and as the Yorkist forces flee in defeat from the battle at Ludford, Cecily is left behind to face the Lancastrian forces with her young children. Brought before the ambitious and ruthless Queen Marguerite, Cecily is deprived of her land, her home and her titles. Forbidden to contact her husband or sons as her sister becomes her jailer, Cecily must find a way to communicate with her family. Soon she is caught up in a scheme to place her husband on the throne, over the ineffectual Henry. If the plan fails she will die a traitor but if it succeeds she will be Queen of England replacing Queen Marguerite. Marguerite will never allow that. Written in the form of letters, chronicles and journal entries this is compelling storytelling and follows in Anne O'Brien's fantastic tradition of bringing to life the reality of the scheming and political manoevring of medieval court life. Perf…

After The Silence by Louise O'Neill

Image
Louise O'Neill seems to have the Midas touch because whatever genre she writes in she turns to gold. She's written dystopia, fairy tale and young adult books and now inspired by the West Cork podcast she has written a contemporary thriller with an unsolved mystery at it's heart. The Kinsella family seem to have it all; a perfect marriage, a big house and a thriving business but when Nessa Crowley is found dead in their garden after the Kinsella's wild party the wounds on the island of  Inisrun are cracked open. Everybody thinks they know who the killer is, but ten years later, with no charges ever brought the wound remains raw. Two young documentary makers arrive determined to find out what really happened and slowly through the various narrators the truth is revealed. This is a clever, twisty and compelling mystery that will appeal to fans of Louise Candlish and Shari Lapena. 

Books to Get Excited About Autumn 2020

Image
Its been a strange and trying time for publishing this last few months as many publications were put on hold or released without fanfare on top of which Autumn is the busiest time for publishing, all of this means that hundreds of books will be published in the coming weeks all vying for the busy Christmas sales period. So I've decided to feature some of the great books that I'm looking forward to. 
Joanne Harris's retelling of the Orpheus myth features a grieving mother and stunning illustrations by Bonnie Helen Hawkins. Published by Gollancz 3rd September