Posts

Showing posts from July, 2012

An Interview with Michelle Jackson author of 4am In Las Vegas

Image
1. Did you always want to write?I didn't always want to be a writer but I did always love to read. I studied in the national college of art and design when I left school which was always my dream. I enjoyed my five years there and went on to do design work before becoming a teacher - writing came to me after my daughter was born and I always refer to her as my muse. I had become very frustrated by my own artwork and I was never pleased with anything that I produced. the medium of words suits me much better and I wasn't burdened with any preconceptions about literature that I seemed to have with the visual arts. Writing came very naturally and it is still such a pleasure to sit down at my laptop and work on a novel.2. What was your favourite book as a child?As a child I used to often stay in my grandmothers and she always had a pile of Mills and Boon books bedside her bed and I would sneak one under my blankets and read until the small hours. I suppose it is no surprise that I …

Witchstruck by Victoria Lamb

Image
2012 has seen the publication of Victoria Lamb's first book for adults The Queen's Secret and her first for teens; Witchstruck, the first of a planned trilogy. I was very excited when I saw the publisher's were labelling this book as "Twilight meets Philippa Gregory" it certainly sounded intriguing. I was even more excited when I saw that this book featured a young witch in training who is already in a precarious position as a servant to the imprisoned Queen Elizabeth. With Bloody Mary on the throne Elizabeth is in constant danger but she is an ambitious young woman with an interest in the dark arts and she encourages Meg and her aunt to seek visions of the future. There is intrigue and danger from page one and I was hooked. Meg is a strong and feisty heroine and the magic and mystery seem to hum on the page. To top it all there is also a thrilling romance with a young Spanish priest in training, but can she trust him? I can't wait to read more from this auth…

The Murder of Halland by Pia Juul

Image
One of Denmark's foremost literary authors Pia Juul has created in Bess a wonderful narrator who stumbles through this short, unassuming story trying to piece together the puzzle of her husband's life and death. The story questions how well we can ever know those we love and just how safe and secure a small community can be, sometimes a place where everyone knows everyone else, can be claustrophobic. This is a sharp, witty and well observed piece. If you like full on gory crime this is not for you but if you enjoy a book which draws you in entirely to the world of the characters then give this a try.

The Villa by Rosanna Ley

Image
The Villa is a wonderful, page-turning beach read. An intelligent and romantic tale of three generations of women, each character is a unique creation and Rosanna Ley manages to slip fluidly between the thoughts and concerns of grandmother Flavia, her daughter Tess and granddaughter Ginny. When Tess unexpectedly inherits a villa in Sicily it could be just the new start she needs, For Flavia it stirs up memories of the village she left behind and for Ginny it's time alone to think about her future and what she really wants. Rosanna Ley is a wonderfully talented writer who will appeal to fans of Cathy Kelly, Rachel Hore and Rosamunde Pilcher. I can't wait to read more from this author.

A Humble Companion by Laurie Graham

Image
This is a fascinating novel ideal for fans of Austen which brings alive the History of the Royal family from George III to Victoria, their quirks and foibles, follies and vices. The tale is told through the voice of Nellie Welche; companion to Princess Sofy daughter of mad king George. Nellie is a wonderful creation; smart and outspoken she is a shrewd observer and a candid narrator. She lives a strange existence neither a servant nor a noble, yet she is privy to secrets both dangerous and heartbreaking and yet at times she is rudely treated and belittled. The story begins when Nellie and Sofy are still young girls and Nellie is overawed at the opportunity she has been given to experience life in the royal household. As she grows older and experiences love and heartbreak, marriage and hard work she begins to question the small confined life of the royal princesses and relish her own relative freedom. Nellie and Sofy remain lifelong friends corresponding frequently even in the years wh…
Image
Losing Lila by Sarah Alderson Reviewed for We Love This Book
Fast paced, thrilling and exciting; Losing Lila is the absorbing sequel to last year’s Hunting Lila. Lila is a psy, one of a small group of people with extraordinary abilities. Lila’s gift is telekinesis, she can move objects with her mind and her power is growing stronger. She and her brother’s best friend Alex are being hunted by a secretive military organisation; the Unit who want to harness the psys abilities and create a super weapon. You may want to re-read Hunting Lila as this book dives right into the action with Alex and Lila running across rooftops in Mexico City. Soon we learn that Lila’s brother Jack is in a coma and in hospital under armed guard while their father has arrived and has been asked to work for the Unit. Lila returns to California alone to try and work out how she can rescue her brother and their Mum, but without the other psys will she able to save those she loves before the Unit discover her abilitie…

The Borrower by Rebecca Makai

Image
The Borrower by Rebecca Makai
Reviewed for
For We Love This Book

Lucy is a clever girl with a good degree, so her parents don’t understand why she chooses not to gain a Masters or to use her father’s contacts to get a successful job. Lucy doesn’t really understand it either but she has effectively buried herself in books, accepting a job as a children’s librarian in Hannibal Missouri even though she hasn’t trained in Library Science and living in a run down apartment unable to let go of the stacks of books around her in case someone might want or need them.
Despite her attempt to run away from her own destiny Lucy discovers a vocation of sorts in Hannibal when she meets Ian a precocious ten year old with a high IQ and a passion for reading. Ian’s parents however are determined to shape his reading and his personality. They have enrolled their son in anti-gay classes and provided Lucy with a list of the kind of books they don’t wish him to read. Examples include anything to do with magic, …

Spy for the Queen of Scots By Theresa Breslin

Image
Spy for the Queen of Scots  By Theresa BreslinReviewed for We Love This Book


Theresa Breslin is a Carnegie Medal-winning author with a number of fantastic books for teens and younger readers to her credit, including a number of thrilling historicalnovels. This new book is no exception, engaging and intriguing it tells the story of the young Mary Queen of Scots through the eyes of her companion Jenny. Fiercely loyal to her Queen and oldest friend, Jenny is a wonderful narrator and through her Theresa Breslin brings alive some of the most interesting people in Early Modern History, making then utterly accessible; the strange prophet Nostradamus, the ruthless Catherine de Medici and the captivating Mary Queen of Scots. Jenny becomes a spy accidently when she overhears Catherine de Medici speak of poison and enemies and she determines to keep her ears open in order to protect her Queen. However this is a dark and dangerous time to be royal and the more Jenny learns of the betrayal, intrigu…