Posts

Showing posts from August, 2018

Restoration by Angela Slatter

Image
I am delighted to once again be part of the blog tour for a new Verity Fassbinder adventure. Sadly this is the last in the current series :( I have absolutely devoured these books and recommended them every chance I can. Angela Slatter's writing is so smart, so witty and so much fun. Her characters are so wonderful to spend time with and the world of the Weyrd folks of Brisneyland is just spectacular. This is urban fantasy with thrills, spills, adventure, horror, romance, battles between good and evil and a kick ass heroine who just doesn't quit. In this latest installment of Verity's adventures she is tasked with helping the Guardian to recover two lost treasures, a bargain she struck to save her family. To keep them safe Verity has to send her family away and of course she misses them like crazy especially baby Maisie. Without the help of the Weyrd council and her former allies Verity is aided by Joyce the kitsune assassin. Can former enemies really work together? If an…

On Bone Bridge By Maria Hoey

Image
Maria Hoey's second novel was released last month and it is an assured and dazzingly follow up to her debut The Last Lost Girl which was shortlisted for both the Kate O'Brien Debut Award and the Annie McHale Debut Novel of the Year Award. Check out my reviewof The Last Lost Girl HERE
On Bone Bridge is a tense, edge of your seat psychological tale. Opening in the early 1980s with imaginative and lonely only child Kay Kelly who finds herself befriended by the intriguing Violet-May Duff. They even share a birthday. Kay falls in love with the big house the Duffs live in and head over heels for Violet-May's dark haired older brother. However when Kay and Violet-May take a walk to Bone Bridge with Violet-May's two younger siblings a tragedy unfolds which changes all their lives. Years later having lived in London for many years, Kay reconnects with Violet-May and her family and the echoes of that Summer day and its events reverberate as Kay tries to understand what really h…

Riddle of the Runes by Janina Ramirez

Image
Riddle of the Runes is the first children's book from Art Historian and Viking expert Janina Ramirez. I have had the pleasure of meeting the author and hearing her speak about her passion for medieval history and I can confirm that this first in a projected series of books featuring twelve year old Viking investigator Alva is as thrilling, exciting and fast paced as I anticipated. Alva's father has been away for almost a year but a mysterious casket may hold a clue to his whereabouts. Alva must help her Uncle Magnus; an investigator to decipher a code of Viking runes. If that's not enough to entice you there is a talking raven, a tamed wolf and a race against time through the icy Norwegian snow. This is a wonderful historical adventure which will appeal to readers aged 9 and upwards. It is gorgeously illustrated by David Wyatt and there is a handy guide to Viking Runes and Viking words provided at the back. I can't wait to read more of Alva's adventures. This book…

Greyfriars House by Emma Fraser

Image
It's 1984 and Charlotte Friel is a top criminal defence lawyer, one of the few women in a very male profession. She has thrown all her energy into her work, so much so that she hadn't noticed how frail and ill her mother had become. A trip home to Scotland means she must face the reality that her mother is dying and consumed with guilt she consents to her mother's request that she reconnect with her relatives at Greyfriars House. Greyfriars is the only house on a remote Scottish Island and Charlotte's elderly great aunts live there alone and isolated, cut off from the world since returning from The Far East after the Second World War. Arriving at Greyfriars Charlotte falls under its spell but there is also a sense of mystery, of secrets and a foreboding sense of being watched. A wonderfully written tale that kept me turning the pages until the early hours. Atmospheric, lush and romantic. A thrilling historical mystery ideal for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees.

A bi…

The Story Collector by Evie Gaughan

Image
A truly enchanting book from it's enticing cover and illustrations to the intriguing back cover blurb. The Story Collector is the tale of two young women in two different eras. Anna a young Irish girl in Thornwood Village, Co Clare, in 1910 is just eighteen and desperate for adventure which comes in the form of an American scholar; Harold, who seeks her help in translating Irish folktales from the local people. One hundred years later Sarah Harper makes a snap decision to travel to Ireland for the Christmas holiday and finds herself walking in the footsteps of Anna and Harold and desperate to learn about the local myths and legends. Full of references to the 'good people' or fairy folk this is a wonderful historical mystery layered with romance. Evie Gaughan's third novel is assured and deft. Her skills as a storyteller are in evidence on each page and I was loathe to close the book and leave the characters, the atmosphere and the sense of place that the author had cr…