Posts

Showing posts from May, 2012

Angel Kiss

Image
I can't believe I have not reviewed this book before, I am currently writing a review for the second in the series but for now here is the review from my goodreads account. 
I read this book in a day and I really enjoyed it. Laura's writing is very conversational and really hooks you into the story. The characters are very believable and I loved spending time with Jacki and her new friends. The only problem I had was that the ending came too quickly I could have happily stayed in Avarna for much longer. Laura Jane Cassidy is a name to watch out for in Teen fiction and this debut is a triumph. I can't wait to read the next installment.

My Big Book Challenge

Image
This summer I have set myself a challenge. On top of  the 100 books in the year challenge I have two other challenges; The 10, 10, 10 which comprises 10 books each from three different genres; Fantasy, Historical Fiction and YA and the other challenge which is the psycho crime spree. That's not as gruesome as it sounds but it means reading 10 books which are crime or psychological thrillers. Altogether I have selected fifty books (approx) which I hope to read between now and the end of the summer. I know 4*10 is not fifty but I simply could not keep the choices down to 10 for each category as there are so many books I want to read.

Historical Fiction
The Last Summer by Judith Kinghorn
Russian Winter by Daphne Kalotay
The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty
The Girl in the Mirror by Sarah Gristwood
Half of the Human Race by Anthony Quinn
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
The Somnabulist by Essie Fox
After Such Kindness by Gaynor Arnold
Hothouse Flower by Lucinda Riley
The Gallows Curse by Ka…

Reviews to follow soon

Image
Apologies for the delay, but these are some of the books I have been reading this month. White Horse was an impulse purchase, Tyringham Park and Dreams were sent directly to me by the publishers. This is how it ends was a proof that was sent to my work and Secrets of the Tides was sent as a gift from the publishers as there were no more proof copies left. Last but by no means least Eighteen Kisses was a book I have been dying to read as it is a follow up to Angel Kiss which I really enjoyed. So more on all these books soon.
Check out this link to read the first two chapters of Dreams by Daniela Sacerdoti



http://www.scribd.com/doc/92837477/Dreams-Website-Preview-Copy-Chapters-1-2
http://www.orionbooks.co.uk/books/extracts/the-gathering-dark-pdf


Check out this link to get a sneak peek at The Gathering Dark which will be published later this month.
http://www.spinebreakers.co.uk/sp_books/black-heart-blue/

Check out this link for an exclusive preview of Louisa Reid's Black Heart Blue and a Q&A with the author. I'll be reviewing this title later this month.
Image
Sneak Peak at Chapter One
DREAMS
Part 1 of the Sarah Midnight Trilogy
Daniela Sacerdoti
BLACK & WHITE PUBLISHING



Prologue
Night Falling
Loneliness makes me
Love breaks me
You’d never think it could happen to you.
You’d never think that one day you’d stand in a graveyard,
rain tapping on a sea of black umbrellas,watching your parents
being lowered into the earth, never to come back.
It’s happening to me.
They said it was an accident. Only I know the truth.
So here I am, standing on the edge of the deep, black holes
dug for them, knowing that they have been murdered;
knowing that nobody – nobody – is ever going to believe me.
I can never give up the fight, this fight that has been handed
down to me, thrust upon my unwilling shoulders. I’d rather be
buried with my parents, my brave mother and father, who
lived and died by the Midnight motto: Don’t Let Them Roam.
My parents were hunters, like their parents and grandparents
before them, and scores of ancestors behind me,
hundreds of yea…

Tell the Wolves I'm Home

Image
Tell the Wolves I’m Home is the story of geeky teenage loner June Elbus who is grieving the loss of her beloved uncle and godfather, the renowned painter Finn Weiss. The story takes place in the late 1980s when fear about A.I.D.S. and discrimination towards those who suffered from it was at its height. June is a wonderful character; a fourteen year old who seems both knowing and naïve all at once. Readers are sure to warm to her as she has that typical teenage characteristic of being both thoughtless and over -thinking everything. Through her we learn about her Uncle who was kind and caring and gradually the strained relationships within her family and the secrets which have been kept hidden are revealed. June develops a secret friendship with Toby; Finn’s “special friend” and together they remember and grieve. Many people will find this book resonates with them dealing as it does with love, loss, family and secrets. A wonderful book.
Here is a link to my review of Tell the Wolves I'm Home on Lovereading, scroll to see.


http://www.lovereading.co.uk/book/7206/Tell-the-Wolves-I-m-Home-by-Carol-Rifka-Brunt.html
In time for the launch of her second book Laura Jane Cassidy speaks to writing.ie

http://writing.ie/meet-the-authors/writing-for-children/583-eighteen-kisses-laura-jane-cassidy.html

25 Realisations Writers Need to have

Harper Fiction

Image
Harper Fiction have quoted my review of The Underside of Joy on their Facebook page


https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-W6-Book-Caf%C3%A9/220312551319062
We've had a fantastic review of début novel THE UNDERSIDE OF JOY from Lisa Redmond, our Bookseller at Waterstones, Drogheda:

"Halverson’s tight and seamless plot and heart wrenching story will entrance and delight fans of Douglas Kennedy and Anita Shreve but her light touch and warm characters will also appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Adriana Trigiani.

I have no doubt that Halverson will be an international bestseller and I have already cast Amy Adams as Ella (even though she’s too short) and Cameron Diaz as Paige. I look forward to many more fantastic books from Seré Prince Halverson in the future."

Thank you Waterstones!