Posts

Showing posts from May, 2016

Sorcerer To the Crown by Zen Cho

Image
Sorcerer to the Crown is the debut novel from Malaysian born and London based author Zen Cho and is a must for fans of Susanna Clarke and Jane Austen blending as it does elements of regency romance and urban fantasy. Zacharias Wythe was freed from slavery and adopted by Sir Stephen Wythe and raised as a gentleman magician. Now with Sir Stephen’s untimely death clouded with suspicion many in the society of Unnatural Philosophers are working against Zacharias to oppose his appointment as Sorcerer Royal believing that his dark skin makes him unworthy to lead them. Meanwhile Prunella Gentleman is a talented sorceress desperate to practise her gift and break out of the confines of the school for Gentlewitches where she has grown up not quite a servant not quite a lady, her dark skin and uncertain parentage ensuring she doesn’t belong anywhere. Well aware of the rules of society Prunella is determined to use them and break them to suit her own ends and when she makes a magical discovery tha…

The Bones of You by Debbie Howells

Image
The Bones of You is a powerful and page turning debut reminiscent of the Lovely Bones. Rosie Anderson is a quiet and studious young girl so when she goes missing the community pull together but when her body is found and it is revealed that she was in fact murdered, the small village the Anderson’s live in is shocked and afraid. Her father is a well known TV reporter her mother a glamorous yummy mummy and the family’s home life seems picture perfect. Local gardener Kate is a good friend of the family and with a daughter Rosie’s age her heart aches for the Andersons but as she becomes entangled in their grief and the murder investigation the perfect façade begins to crack. Narrated through Kate, Rosie and her younger sister Delphine this is a portrait of shattered lives of everyday cruelty and of the horror that hides behind closed doors. Set in the heart of middle England this is a tale that gradually peels away the layers cleverly exposing the imperfections underneath. Undoubtedly H…

The Saffron Trail by Rosanna Ley

Image
This is the story of two women who for different reasons feel a connection to Morocco. Nell is grieving for her mother who died suddenly, in strange circumstances and Amy is a photographer; determined to remain aloof and independent. They meet at a cookery course in Marrakech. For Nell the course was a gift from her husband, a chance to explore Moroccan cuisine which has always held a fascination for her and to understand more about her Mother who had grown saffron on her farm in Cornwall. For Amy the trip is work she is illustrating a cookery book and organising an event showcasing the links between Britain and Morocco, but the trip is also a chance to find out more about her cousin Glenn, her Great Aunt Lillian's only child ,who went missing as a young man and the only clue to his whereabouts is a faded postcard with a Moroccan stamp. The two women instantly hit it off and begin to explore the city and its culture. The trip also gives both of them a chance to think about the nex…

Last Dance in Havana by Rosanna Ley Blog Tour Guest Post

Image
I am delighted to be involved in the blog tour for Rosanna's newest novel Last Dance in Havana. Rosanna is an author I very much enjoy reading, she captures historical periods and exotic locations perfectly but most of all she creates wonderful, believable characters.

I asked Rosanna to tell me about some of her favourite literary destinations.



Rosanna Ley's Five Favourite Locations in Books



Italy – stunning and sensual – is my favourite country. (I’m writing about Sardinia at the moment and

loving it). Anthony Capella set his delightful novel The Food of Love in Trastevere, Rome. I fell in love

with the down town area of Trastevere the first time I visited the city. It’s bohemian, arty and

irresistable. It also sells the best pizzas in Rome.



Mary Anning had a talent for finding fossils in Lyme Regis in the early nineteenth century. Tracy

Chevalier brings Mary’s story alive in Remarkable Creatures and the Jurassic Coast is another

character in Chevalier’s novel - ancient, myst…

The Stones of Winter by Oskar Jensen

Image
The first novel from Oskar Jensen is a thrilling tale of adventure, witches, wolves and spookiness. Astrid and Leif are a brilliant pairing. Astrid is wild and adventurous while Leif is more thoughtful and cautious. The two friends need all of their skills to face the threat of the new religion which Bishop Folkmar is trying to force on them. Our young heroes know that magic is real and very much alive and that the stones are an important part of that magic. Set in Denmark in the tenth century and using some real historical characters as an inspiration Jensen has written an exciting, well crafted and enthralling story suitable for readers of nine upwards. Available now from Piccadilly Press.