Friday, April 8, 2016

Dreamland by Robert L Anderson






Dea and her Mom have lived an erratic life, moving from place to place, a new school every year, only one step ahead of their debts. Dea has never really had the chance to make friends; until now, living in the town of Fielding she meets Eleanor whom everyone calls Gollum but not even with her best friend can Dea reveal her secret. Ever since she was six she has walked through people’s dreams. Her Mom does it too, and she teaches her the rules; never interfere, never be seen and never walk the same person’s dreams twice. Until this year Dea has followed the rules but when a new boy moves into her neighbourhood Dea is intrigued he wants to be friends with the town’s two outcasts and when she walks through his dreams she realises he has dark secrets about his past that are buried deep. Soon Dea is breaking every rule and when her Mom wants to leave town Dea knows that she can’t leave her friends. She wants to help Connor confront his past and learn more about her own. This is an atmospheric and riveting debut with huge crossover appeal. The characters are empathetic and well written and the twists and turns are completely unexpected. Perfect for fans of Daughter and Smoke and Bone.

This review originally appeared at welovethisbook.com    http://www.welovethisbook.com/reviews/dreamland

For the Most Beautiful by Emily Hauser





Emily Hauser's debut novel is a brilliant retelling of The Iliad from the point of view of Krisayis and Briseis who though central to the original story never get a chance to speak for themselves. The book is a wonderful story of love, loyalty and war. I really enjoyed revisiting this classic work and seeing the fresh perspective that the author presents. This is a real page turner with the Gods dabbling in the lives of mortals like a game and the mortal characters straining against their fate. This was an enthralling read with great detail about every day life in Troy, and though the research is thorough the detail is never laboured. I especially loved Krisayis and her determination to fight for her city and her people. The characters are brilliantly brought to life and the action and storytelling is fast paced and clever. I highly recommend this book. 

thank you to lovereading.co.uk for a reading copy of this book.